Raita (Singapore)

Singapore - RaitaDon’t you wish you had a portable diving board?  Which is to say, that’s ridiculous.  Which is also to say, I’m not feeling down on my luck, instead it’s an expression that I use every time I eat something so good that I’d like to dive right in. What’s the location of, today’s food in the limelight?  Little India, in Singapore.  A post about Asia, who would’ve guessed?  I’ll switch it up soon.

What’s the name of the dish?  Raita.  And that is just one serving of it.  Oh, you got me again- if only I had used a wide-angle lens.  Raita is a yogurt-based condiment hailing from South Asia, namely India and Pakistan.  Herein lies the Catch-22: are you one who gladly samples the local delicacies from street vendors and bus stations?  In those two countries?  Have fun with the outcome.  Though, isn’t yogurt supposed to be beneficial in this scenario?  Only if doesn’t come from the same source as the rest of the street food.  Moreover, is it warm?… What a trip!  You might as well take a picture of the photos in your guidebook.

The raita I’m used to eating- a more fluid variant with diced cucumbers- is not typically as generous as the carrot, red onion, cilantro, cumin, black mustard, and chili-filled one above.  As a matter of fact, raita can even count among its ingredients pumpkin, banana and peanut, though in my view, adding those denser foods makes it more of a snack than an accompaniment.  But look who’s talking, I ordered three extra side plates in Singapore, making it a second lunch- the only other thing I needed at the time was a garlic naan-wallah.


Do you respect raita?

About buildingmybento

Bread, olive oil Waking up in Nakagin Sure does sound like me
This entry was posted in Condiment, East & Southeast Asia, South Asia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Raita (Singapore)

  1. expatlingo says:

    That raita looks like its certainly crossed the line from condiment to salad.

  2. Pingback: Do Economy Class Passengers Eat? Some Airlines Think So. « buildingmybento

  3. Pingback: Walnut Milk (China) | Collateral Lettuce

Leave a Reply

